Board of Trustees February 11, 2020 President's Report

Honors and Awards to Members of the University Community

- 1. David Eccles School School of Business student Matthew Froberg has been chosen to present at the upcoming National Conference on Undergraduate Research at Montana State University. Froberg's paper, "Security Design in Markets with Risk: Price and Allocation Efficiencies," was chosen from more than 4,000 submissions. Froberg is a fourth-year student majoring in Quantitative Analysis of Markets and Organizations and has been studying under Eccles School professor Elena Asparouhova in her Laboratory for Experimental Economics & Finance.
- David Eccles School of Business professor Jay Barney has been selected to receive the 2020 John Fayerweather Eminent Scholar Award from the Fellows of the Academy of International Business, to be presented this July at the AIB annual conference in Miami. This is the most important award given by the AIB and is selected by a committee of Fellows. The award is unique, honoring scholars from outside the field of International Business whose work has had an important impact on the research and development of knowledge in the IB field and is likely to continue to do so in the future. The award has been given for more than 30 years to prominent scholars in adjacent fields such as economics, sociology, and organizational theory, among others. Previous recipients are well-known and highly respected scholars in their fields, but who also demonstrate impact and visibility beyond those fields.
- 3. University of Utah chemical engineering professor Eric Eddings has received a \$1.9 million grant from the U.S. Department of Energy for continued research on converting coal pitch into carbon fiber, a process that could help revitalize the coal industry by converting coal pitch into useful materials for products such as cars, prosthetics, recreational equipment and other light-weight items. The grant will allow researchers to scale up and verify lab-scale developments on the production of isotropic and mesophase coal-tar pitch for carbon fiber production. This new phase will use coals from five coal-producing regions in Utah, Wyoming, West Virginia, Alaska and Illinois. Researchers will also investigate the production of a silicon carbide by-product from residual coal char and develop an extensive database and suite of tools for data analysis and economic modeling related to the coal-to-carbon-fiber process. This will also help them assess the economic viability of coals from different regions for producing specific products. Also involved in the project are University of Utah School of Computing's Distinguished Professor Christopher Johnson and professors Valerio Pascucci and Mike Kirby. All three are members of the U's Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute.
- 4. University of Utah biomedical engineering assistant professor Lucas Timmins has received a five-year \$1.7 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to research the biomechanics associated with heart disease. The grant will allow researchers to come up with a better way to predict if a person is at greater risk for heart disease by looking at the mechanics of the heart's arteries (coronary arteries), such as how stiff the arteries become when diseased and how much additional stress that creates. By using image-based computer modeling, researchers can better understand the biomechanics in the setting of heart disease and how mechanics affects the progression of the disease.

- Mechanical Engineering associate professor Bart Raeymaekers was recently elevated to the grade of fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). The ASME fellow grade recognizes "exceptional engineering achievements and contributions to the engineering profession." The title has been awarded to only about three percent of over 100,000 ASME members. Raeymaekers' research interests span two areas: tribology with an emphasis on microand nanoscale lubrication, and materials manufacturing with an emphasis on directed self-assembly. Furthermore, Raeymaekers is passionate about interaction between academia and industry and has founded a manufacturing center at the University of Utah which interacts with small- and medium-sized manufacturing companies in Utah.
- 6. The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science has selected Carlos Gray Santana, assistant professor of philosophy at the University of Utah, as the winner of its 2019 Karl Popper Prize for his paper in the philosophy of geology. The Popper Prize is awarded annually to the article judged to be the best published in that year's volume of the journal, as determined by the editors-in-chief and the British Society for the Philosophy of Science committee. Santana won the prize for his article, "Waiting for the Anthropocene." This is the second year in a row the Popper Prize has been awarded to faculty at the University of Utah. Jonah N. Schupbach, associate professor of philosophy, received the award in 2018.
- 7. Kimberley Evason, MD, PhD, and Gregory Ducker, PhD, were two of only twelve scientists nationwide to receive a Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award. This award is given by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation annually to help "exceptionally creative thinkers" who pursue "high-risk, high-reward" research concepts. Evason is a researcher at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) and assistant professor of pathology at the University of Utah (U of U). Gregory Ducker is also an HCI researcher, and an assistant professor of biochemistry at the U of U. The award will fund Evason and Ducker's research involving zebrafish related to liver cancer. Evason and Ducker study how the liver uses different forms of energy, including fat. They identified that certain kinds of fat are elevated in liver cancer cells and work to understand the impact of this fat on the disease. They use a zebrafish model system because liver tumors of zebrafish share attributes of human liver tumors.
- 8. Alumni received a CASE District VII Gold Award for their 2018-2019 Student Philanthropy program in the category of "Student Alumni Initiatives". CASE District VII Board of Directors received 543 submissions this year.