Board of Trustees December 10, 2019 President's Report

Honors and Awards to Members of the University Community

- 1. The University of Utah, Utah Domestic Violence Coalition and more than 10 campus and community partners have received a \$300,000 grant to develop better coordination of services and comprehensive prevention strategies aimed at reducing violent crimes against women and promoting victim safety. The grant is from the U.S. Department of Justice's Office on Violence Against Women, which operates a funding program for projects aimed at reducing sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence and stalking on college campuses. The grant is spread over three years. It will allow collaborators to build a Coordinated Community Response that brings together external resources and services and comprehensive preventative strategies to improve outreach, awareness and prevent violence on the U campus.
- 2. The 1U4U initiative sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research is a targeted seed grant program intended to foster campus-wide collaborations to facilitate new interdisciplinary, multi-investigator teams that will pursue significant external funding. During Fall 2019, the program focused on two research areas: opioid addiction and violence against women. Proposals submitted for funding will bring together researchers from different units on campus to initiate new, solutions-oriented research programs that address causes and/or possible solutions to address these pressing societal and public health issues.
- 3. John (Sandy) S. Parkinson, distinguished professor in the School of Biological Sciences, and Marc D. Porter, professor in the Department of Chemistry, have been named 2019 Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science for invaluable work in their fields.
- 4. Thure Cerling, distinguished professor and chair of the department of Geology and Geophysics, has been awarded the Émile Argand Award from the International Union of Geological Sciences. This is the organization's highest honor, and is awarded "to honour an active senior geoscientist of high international recognition and outstanding scientific record."
- 5. Anne Blaschke, professor in the Department of Pediatrics, and Peter Stang, distinguished professor of Chemistry, have been named 2019 Fellows by the National Academy of Inventors for "innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society."