## President's Report - October 2018

## Honors and Awards to Members of the University Community

1. University of Utah Hospital is one of ten Utah hospitals being recognized for their high performance on quality-of-care outcome measures and patient satisfaction. The HealthInsight Quality Award Program recognizes high-performing health care provider organizations in the states for which HealthInsight serves as the Medicare program's Quality Innovation Network-Quality Improvement Organization (QIN-QIO) contractor. Eligibility for the Hospital Quality Award is based on a composite ranking of performance on quality measures reported on Medicare's Hospital Compare website. Hospitals that rank in the top 25th percentile for the composite score are eligible for a 2018 Quality Award.

## The 2018 award recipients are:

- Bear River Valley Hospital *Tremonton*
- Delta Community Hospital Delta
- Intermountain Fillmore Community Hospital Fillmore
- Intermountain Logan Regional Hospital Logan
- Mckay-Dee Hospital Ogden
- TOSH The Orthopedic Specialty Hospital Salt Lake City
- Sevier Valley Hospital Richfield
- Uintah Basin Healthcare Roosevelt
- University of Utah Health Salt Lake City
- Utah Valley Hospital Provo
- 2. University of Utah Health's Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP) now is fully recognized by the Centers for Disease Control. The program is only the third in the state to receive the recognition and the first that is open to the general public. In order for a program to become fully recognized by the CDC a number of criteria have to be met. Not only does the program have to demonstrate it uses curriculum that is CDC approved, but it also has to show that those implementing the curriculum are properly trained. They also must document for more than one year the progress of the program's participants and provide proof that the program is helping them prevent diabetes. The DPP is centered on helping those who have prediabetes avoid getting diabetes by making changes like changing eating habits and increasing physical activity. But it is also more than that. Coaches in the program help participants identify and overcome barriers that have kept them from making healthy choices in the past.
- 3. Charles L. Saltzman, MD, Chair of Orthopaedics and the LS Peery Presidential Endowed Professor at the University of Utah, has been elected as Vice President of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) for a one-year term. Dr. Saltzman was elected to the Board in 2012. He was most recently Secretary and has served as Chair of the ABOS Credentials and Research Committees. The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the

best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons.

- 4. Bill Sutherland, emeritus professor of physics at the University of Utah, was awarded the 2019 Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics, which he will share with Professor Michel Gaudin at the Institute for Advanced Study and Francesco Calogero, professor of physics at Sapienza University of Rome. The prize is one of the nation's highest awards for physics seven previous winners have gone on to receive the Nobel Prize. Established in 1959 by the Heineman Foundation, the Heineman Prize recognizes outstanding publications in the field of mathematical physics. Jointly administered by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society, the prize is funded by the Heineman Foundation in honor of Dannie Heineman, an engineer, executive, and philanthropist born in North Carolina but who spent most of his career in Germany, Belgium, and Italy.
- 5. Distinguished emeritus professor Alexei Efos has received the 2019 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize by the American Physical Society (APS). The award recognizes outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics and is named in honor of Oliver Ellsworth Buckley, a former president of Bell Labs. Efros shares the award with colleague Boris Shklovskii, a theoretical physicist at the William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute at the University of Minnesota, and Elihu Abrahams, distinguished adjunct professor of physics and astronomy at UCLA. Born in Leningrad, Russia, now St. Petersburg, Efros obtained a master's degree from the Leningrad Polytechnic Institute in 1961 and a Ph.D. in physics a year later from the loffe Physico-Technical Institute. In 1986, he received the Landau Prize in theoretical physics from the Soviet Academy of Sciences. He emigrated to the U.S. in 1989 as a visiting professor and distinguished scholar at the University of California, Riverside. He moved to the University of Utah in 1991 and became a distinguished professor in 1994.